powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2005-04-08 - 6:46 p.m. - total eclipse of the heart

All right, I�m waiting for the eclipse to happen. I�ve had the song in my head all day, �once upon a time I was falling in love, now I�m only falling apart�.total eclipse of the heart.� Then U2�s, �staring at the sun� comes to mind, followed by The Police�s �there�s a little black spot on the sun today�that�s my soul up there.� I swear, the story of my life should be a musical.

Speaking of which, as I told my Biology students today about the eclipse, I happened to say, "look up at the sky around 6:15 p.m.", and two of them broke out into Queen�s��look up to the sky and see�I�m am just a poor boy�� It was pretty funny. I really enjoy that class. Earlier in the period we had a great discussion about evolution and the beginning of life here on Earth.

Overall, today was a pretty good day. It started out with my block period of Biology where we started with our discussion I just mentioned and then did an activity about relative dating using fossils and the Law of Superposition (of rock layers � older rocks on bottom, younger rocks on top�.whoah � that has other connotations, too! HA!) My block period of chemistry was (I admit) a bit boring the first half as I finished giving some notes and lecturing, but then we did a lab which went well so it ended on a good note. My 6th graders had a softball tournament so I got to do some grading during their period. I finished the day with my 7th graders who have been studying the effects of alcohol on the body. I did a lab where you have two beakers of liquid to represent two different body types. Each has the same amount of liquid but differ in the quantities of water mixed with mineral oil. The oil represents body fat, and the students had to hypothesize about which layer would mix more with the alcohol. I had little plastic cups that basically looked like shot glasses and poured some rubbing alcohol with red food coloring (Cosmos!) into them. The students then poured the �shots� into their beakers of water and oil. Since the alcohol mixes with the water, the body type with more body fat gets a higher concentration of alcohol into their bloodstream. So it�s the last period on a Friday afternoon and I am the teacher turned �bar tender�. It was fun and a great demo to help the students understand how people can drink the same amount but respond differently to the alcohol. The percentage of body fat is just one of the factors that can affect our tolerance.

I just stopped and took a quick look at the eclipse. It looked like the sun was becoming a crescent, and then as the moon slowly made its way in front of it, the sun sank below the clouds in the horizon�bummer. Still, what I saw was really cool. It�s so tempting to just stare at it, but given that I didn�t have the proper filters for safely viewing, I took quick glances. �Blinded by the light�� (yet another song)

My day ended with two students coming to make up a test and then the two of them, the brother of one of them and I talking about various things. They told me some funny stories about falling asleep in classes, etc�it was an enjoyable conversation. I�m really going to miss them when I leave�

Oh, I have so much to write about my vacation � it was AWESOME and the re-entry into the work world this week has been a bit rough�.no motivation to do anything at ALL! Especially grading which I HAVE to do given that report cards are due on Monday (which I haven�t even started yet). It�s going to be a long WORKING weekend�

oreos - 2005-05-29
hearing the call - 2005-05-04
highlights from Los Llanos - 2005-04-08
total eclipse of the heart - 2005-04-08
vacation - two days and counting.... - 2005-03-21
">next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

      
Marriage is love.